Very simple gluten-free mac and cheese, a recipe

Today I decided to take my old gluten filled mac and cheese recipe and create a gluten-free version. All I did was use potato flour instead of all-purpose and then used glutino brown rice pasta elbows instead of my normal kamut pasta.

All I can say is YUM! There really was no difference in taste! The cost of the pasta was a lot steeper, but that was to be expected. Anyway, I am thrilled with the result! I forgot to take a photograph (I just wanted to eat! I was starving) but here is the very simple recipe. Makes 6-8 side servings, depending on how hungry you are!

Ingredients:

  • 1 box glutino brown rice pasta elbows
  • 10.5 oz (300g) old cheddar
  • 1.5 (300 mL) cups skim (fat-free) milk
  • 2 tbsp (30 mL) butter
  • 2 tbsp (30 mL) potato flour/starch
  • pinch nutmeg
  • pinch cayenne pepper
  • pinch salt
  • pinch freshly ground pepper

Directions:

  1. Cook the pasta as per instructions, but subtract the cooking time by about 2 minutes. I boiled for 9 minutes when the package suggested 11.
  2. In a small sauce pan melt butter, add the milk and the flour. Stir constantly and simmer for 5 minutes or until it just starts to thicken.
  3. Add the cheese, and stir into the milk until melted.
  4. Put cooked pasta and sauce into a casserole, mix around until even.
  5. Bake in oven at 350F (180C) for 15 minutes, or until the top is starting to brown.
  6. ENJOY!


Technorati : , , , , , , ,
Del.icio.us : , , , , , , ,
Ice Rocket : , , , , , , ,
Flickr : , , , , , , ,
Zooomr : , , , , , , ,
Buzznet : , , , , , , ,
Riya : , , , , , , ,
43 Things : , , , , , , ,

7 Responses

  1. Wow- looks great! I am going to link this to my latest mac & cheese review, if you don’t mind :) I just found your blog and i love how it has so much variety in gluten free cooking ( not only recipes). Keep it up – it rocks!

    Karen

    http://glutenfreefoodreviews.com

  2. [...] some extra time and want to whip up a batch of homemade gluten free mac & cheese? Check out Shauna’s recipe at Crazy Orange Turtle’s Gluten Free Kitchen- it looks like a [...]

  3. Wonderful! I’m glad you like the blog and I appreciate the link-back!

    I’m addding you to my blog roll. I honestly thought your blog was on there (I have subscribed via RSS) but I missed putting it on the site!

    Cheers!

  4. [...] dishes easy. The asian flavours love rice, the honey garlic goes great with potatoes or homemade mac and cheese. [...]

  5. I wanted to print the mac and cheese recipe but all I get is a last page–no recipes

  6. I am working on a cookbook for the holidays for my store. I’d like to use your mac & cheese recipe. Please contact me, if your interested, at 916-442-5241.

  7. With computer technology as retail resume examples advanced as it is also referred to
    as content. It takes a great deal of persistence to make a
    business work. While the sky is the limit for what you will sell, how retail resume examples you will ‘feel’ when you attain the things you desire.
    This is the reason why many politiciwns who are so
    adamantly against homosexualiity end upp being gay.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

