My (new) favourite gluten-free, multigrain, sandwich bread

bread closeupI’ve been trying for a couple of weeks to find a gluten-free sandwich bread recipe that I really enjoy. My new job starts on Monday and I’ll have to bring lunches with me — sandwich time! But how can I bring a sandwich if I absolutely hate all of the gluten-free sandwich bread that I’ve come across? I had made a low-gluten bread with spelt flour, which I can easily make into a gluten-free variety by substituting sorghum for spelt. But this bread is much softer than sandwich bread — its too hard to cut into even slices and is much better as an accompaniment to stew or soup. I wanted something healthy that would make a simply wonderful sandwich.

Yesterday I have up on the oven and I bought a nice new Cuisinart breadmaker. This was a little pricey, but it had a gluten-free cycle. My first attempt at using this bread-maker was a disaster (I’ll post about that tomorrow). But my second attempt was superb!

My new favourite gluten-free bread recipe can be found published in the “Complete Gluten-Free Cookbook” by Donna Washburn & Heather Butt. This is the only gluten-free cookbook I have tried (and since starting this blog, I’ve tried no less than eight) where each and every recipe comes out wonderfully. I highly recommend this book!

The recipe I am currently discussing is for “Sunflower and Flax Bread” which can be found on page 198 of this marvellous cookbook. I used the bread-machine, but the book also contains a mixer-method recipe on page 197 which I am sure is just as wonderful. You can buy the book in the store or on-line at chapters.ca or amazon.com. If you do buy the book and cook by metric (like myself) watch out for their metric conversions: they’re sometimes wrong!whole loaf image For instance, a 1/4 cup of something 62.5 mL, but the book says 50 mL HOWEVER the book also said that 1/2 cup is 125 mL which is correct! I’ve corrected these problems below. If you want to do the math yourself, the accepted volume of 1 cup is 250 mL, 1 tbsp is 15 mL and 1 tsp is 5 mL.

Sunflower and Flax Bread (Bread Machine Method)

Adapted from “Complete Gluten-Free Cookbook” by Donna Washburn & Heather Butt.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4cup (188 mL) sorghum flour
  • 2/3 cup (167 mL) amaranth flour
  • 1/3 cup (83 mL) ground flax seed (this is what I used) or flax flour (what the recipe calls for)
  • 2/3 cup (167 mL) potato starch (I used potato flour, I do believe they are technically the same thing)
  • 1/3 cup (83 mL) cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup (60 mL) granulated sugar
  • 2 1/2 tsp (15 mL) xathan gum
  • 2 tsp (10 mL) bread machine yeast (or instant)
  • 1 1/2 tsp (7.5 mL) salt (I use fine sea salt)
  • 1/2 cup (125 mL) cracked flax seed
  • 1/2 cup (125 mL) raw unsalted sunflower seeds
  • 1 1/4 cups (310 mL) warm water
  • 3 tbsp (45 mL) vegetable oil (I used extra virgin olive oil)
  • 2 tsp (10 mL) cider vinegar
  • 2 lightly beaten eggs
  • 2 lightly beaten egg whites

Directions:

  1. Mix together all of the dry ingredients, making sure that the mixture is uniform. Set aside
  2. Mix water, oil, vinegar, eggs and egg white together and pour into the bowl of the bread maker
  3. Set your machine to the dough cycle or use the gluten-free cycle if your machine has one. Select a 1.5 or 2 lbs loaf size (I selected 2 lbs and it came out great)
  4. If your bread maker has a pre-heating cycle (mine does) wait until the kneed cycle begins then slowly add your dry ingredients to the bowl. I helped the mixing along with a wooden spoon because I just don’t trust a machine to do things without my help.
  5. When the kneading is finished, remove the mixing blade, smooth the top of the loaf (make sure you also spatula down the sides of the bowl) and let the rise cycle take over. This should be 45 minutes to an hour long.
  6. If you have the machine that has a gluten-free setting, the machine should auto-magically start the baking process. If your machine has a crust setting, select medium crust. If not, select your bake cycle, time it to 60 minutes at 350F (180C).
  7. When finished, remove from pan immediately and allow to cool completely on a rack. If you cut the bread too soon your slices will not be even.
  8. ENJOY!


Technorati : , , , , , , , , , ,
Del.icio.us : , , , , , , , , , ,
Ice Rocket : , , , , , , , , , ,
Flickr : , , , , , , , , , ,
Zooomr : , , , , , , , , , ,
Buzznet : , , , , , , , , , ,
Riya : , , , , , , , , , ,
43 Things : , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response

  1. Hi,
    Would you be willing to post the mixer method for conventional ovens or emmail it to me?
    Also, is it OK to use all ground flax instead of the cracked flax listed in the recipe?
    Thanks for any help!
    KE

Leave a Reply

